Online Course - Art Deco Jewels: explore the origins and development of this highly recognisable style (three parts)

Course overview: An analysis of the popular jewellery style, from its origin and development to the variety of its sources of inspiration.

Course tutor: The course is led by Daniela Mascetti, one of the world’s most renowned and respected jewellery historians. Latterly Chairman of Sotheby’s Jewellery Division, Europe, Daniela worked for the auction house for 40 years, primarily in London and lastly in Geneva, where she was instrumental in the sourcing of highly important single owner collections and consignments. Daniela was responsible for creating the Jewellery teaching programme at Sotheby’s Institute of Art and for 30 years she taught there as well as managing and overseeing the development of these highly popular courses.

The course is in three parts and will be held in an interactive, live online format:

1. 1900-1914: The Preparation of a Style
2. 1920s: Exotic Eclecticism
3. 1930s: Opulence and Glamour

Each session lasts approximately one hour in total and comprises 45 minutes of teaching with time afterwards allocated for attendees’ Q&As.

For Far East attendees:
Thursday, 7 October | Thursday, 14 October | Thursday, 21 October 2021
Starting at: 10am BST / 11am CET / 12noon Moscow / 1pm Gulf Standard Time / 5pm Beijing / 6pm Tokyo

For North American and European attendees:
Thursday, 4 November | Thursday, 11 November | Thursday, 18 November 2021
Starting at: 9am Pacific Daylight Time / 11am Central Daylight Time / 12noon Eastern Daylight Time / 5pm GMT / 6pm CET

Cost: $600 for the three part course

There will be a limited number of places available on each course